Imagine Rugby Blogs
Imagine Rugby Bloggers
Around the Grounds: Saracens
The home of the Premiership champions
Posted Aug 19, 2011 by Chris White
Send to a friend
Vicarage Road is a 17,500-capacity stadium that was opened back in 1922, in time for the new football season. Saracens moved to the ground in 1997 and won their first Premiership title last season.
The main stand on the east side of the ground is the oldest and contains the changing rooms, tunnel, director’s box and the press area. Originally, it seated around 3,500 fans but was extended in 1969, adding a further 1,700 seats, becoming the family enclosure at the ground. In 2004, parts of the stand were deemed unfit for use and were closed and the 88-year old main stand was dismantled in 2010, leaving just the 1969 extension remaining on that side of the ground.
The Vicarage Road stand was built following the 1992-93 season, becoming an all-seater stand as part of the Taylor Report into terracing at sports venues. It cost £2.3million to build and seated 5,800 fans. A partition was added in 2004, making part of the stand the away section.
The Rous Stand runs along the west side of the ground. The two-tiered stand features executive boxes and also a television camera gantry.
The Rookery Stand, or Rover South Stand at Saracens matches is the newest part of the ground, built over the duration of the 1994-95 season, that seats up to 6,960 supporters. Larger than the Vicarage Road stand at the other end of the ground, it has facilities spanning both levels, with administrative areas and the club shop.