Imagine Rugby Blogs

World Cup Squads - England & Scotland

Johnson and Robinson choose their final 30

Posted Aug 24, 2011 by Chris White

England won the Six Nations this year and will hope to win their second World Cup

Monday was the deadline for teams to announce their final squads for this year’s World Cup, with coaches forced to narrow their recent squads down to the 30 they will use in New Zealand this autumn.

England coach Martin Johnson left out centre Riki Flutey in what was maybe the biggest surprise with the final squad, while he has only selected two specialist fly-halves Toby Flood and Jonny Wilkinson, who is one of three survivors from the squad that won the World Cup in 2003, the others being Mike Tindall and Steve Thompson.

Scrum-half Danny Care was ruled out of the tournament through injury, which persuaded Johnson to take three alternatives to New Zealand, with uncapped Joe Simpson joining Ben Youngs and Richard Wigglesworth on the plane.

Lewis Moody will captain the side despite his recent injury problems, and he will be leading a squad that features 20-year old Manu Tuilagi who scored on his debut against Wales at Twickenham earlier in August.

As for Scotland, Alastair Kellock will captain the side coached by Andy Robinson, who has left Glasgow Warriors’ Johnnie Beattie out of the final 30. Chris Paterson is included and will be appearing at his fourth World Cup, having already scored 786 points for his country in 105 appearances.

Nikki Walker, Hugo Southwell and Fergus Thomson all miss the trip to the southern hemisphere through injury, with David Denton and Robert Harley among the men forced to watch on the television, along with Ryan Grant, Ben Cairns, Greig Laidlaw and Jack Cuthbert.


England Squad for the World Cup in New Zealand:

Backs: D Armitage, C Ashton, M Banahan, M Cueto, T Flood, B Foden, S Hape, J Simpson, M Tindall, M Tuilagi, R Wigglesworth, J Wilkinson, B Youngs.

Forwards: D Cole, A Corbisiero, T Croft, L Deacon, N Easter, D Hartley, J Haskell, C Lawes, L Mears, L Moody, T Palmer, S Shaw, A Sheridan, M Stevens, S Thompson, D Wilson, T Wood.


Scotland Squad for the World Cup in New Zealand:

Backs: J Ansbro, M Blair, C Cusiter, S Danieli, N De Luca, M Evans, R Jackson, R Lamont, S Lamont, R Lawson, G Morrison, D Parks, C Paterson.

Forwards: J Barclay, K Brown, G Cross, A Dickinson, R Ford, R Gray, D Hall, J Hamilton, N Hines, A Jacobsen, A Kellock, S Lawson, M Low, E Murray, R Rennie, A Strokosch, R Vernon.


Why Join Us?

We combine great social networking and excellent content, all in one place!

  • Interests

    Choose the interests you want to follow
  • Community

    Connect with friends and other sports fans
  • Content

    News, Views, Equipment Reviews, Contests & Deals
Join Now

Are you a coach?